Skip to main content
Skip to main menu


Luedecke Named Goldwater Scholar

Thursday, May 23, 2019 - 4:30pm

Kaitlin Luedecke, an Honors major in the Chemistry Department, has been announced as one of four recipients of the 2019 Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship, one of the highest undergraduate honors in the United States. It reflects her outstanding academic achievement and commitment to pursuing a career in the STEM fields.

Kaitlin conducts undergraduate research under the guidance of UGA Foundation Professor Gregory Robinson in his inorganic chemistry lab. She has presented at the southeastern and national meetings of the American Chemical Society, CURO Symposium, and UGA’s Summer Undergraduate Research Opportunities Symposium.  She has been published in the journal Dalton Transactions. She was an invited participant at the American Chemical Society’s Inorganic Undergraduate Symposium. Her awards include the American Chemical Society’s Undergraduate Award, Undergraduate Student of the Year, and a CURO research assistantship at UGA.

This May, she will study abroad in Australia and New Zealand, examining ecosystems in these countries. She plans to pursue a doctorate in chemistry, specializing in inorganic chemistry with a focus on carbene chemistry, and thereafter teach at a research university. She hopes to develop mentorship and outreach opportunities for females in STEM at the sub-collegiate level.


Support Us

We appreciate your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click here to learn more about giving.

Every dollar given has a direct impact upon our students and faculty.

Got More Questions?

Undergraduate inquiries: 

Registration and credit

AP Credit, Section Changes, Overrides,

Graduate inquiries:

Contact Us!

Assistant to the Department Head: Donna Spotts, 706-542-1919 

Main office phone: 706-542-1919 

Fax: 706-542-9454

Head of the Department: Prof. I. Jonathan Amster